Saltwater Newbie Here: Adding New Fish to Preexisting Aquarium Setup?

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Scona, Nov 23, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Scona

Scona Plankton

Hiya!
    Do feel free to let me know if this isn't the right place for this thread.:)
    I am in dire need of advice on how to add a new fish to a long-time saltwater aquarium that I recently came into ownership of.
    All of the current fish have been in the aquarium "since the beginning", so I am unsure of how to deal with whatever disruption a new (but docile) arrival will cause.
    I have owned the tank four about 4 months now, but it is about 4 years old.
    (Note: This is my first saltwater tank. I am experienced in respect to freshwater, and own 3 freshwater tanks- A South American Cichlid Tank (200 gallons) an African Cichlid Tank (150 gallons), and a miscellaneous Tiger Barb tank with a few Koi mixed in for diversity (100 gallons.)
    Here Are The Tank's Details:
    170 gallon tank: regular sand, 2 large faux coral centerpieces, and a back wall of complex coral caves.
    Readings: All readings (nitrate, nitrite, PH, etc) are pretty much perfect. Only issue is with algae currently from excessive lighting, but that will be fixed with the arrival of an incoming "cleaner pack" (5 emerald crabs, 10 hermits, 5 snails.);)
    Meet the current fish:
    1 Emperor Angelfish (6 inches): The big guy, and with that being said, the hog. He eats everything!
    1 Yellow Tang (5 inches): Friendly, docile.
    1 Blue Hippo Tang (5 inches): The oddball of the tank, but endearing. Likes to lay down on his side on coral or sand to relax, and when happy or excited makes rounds in the tank blowing bubbles and showing off his graceful swimming. A bit of a trickster.:yelrotflmao: