salt water tank general cost

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Reillysky3, Jan 29, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Reillysky3

Reillysky3 Plankton

Hi, I am new to keeping saltwater tanks and I wanted to know if you guys could give me a general idea of start up costs.

I would like to keep live corals as well as fish inside the tank. I know that reef tanks can be pretty expensive but maybe you could tell me what YOUR start up cost was(just to give me an idea).

I am a student so I probably wont be able to buy everything outright but would like to get an idea of a good start up price.

If it helps I would like to start with a 20-30 gallon tank.
    I have heard that smaller tanks are harder to keep so would a 20 or 30 gallon be ok or is that to small?

Thanks so much for the help.

2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

I suggest a 20 or 40 gallon breeder from Petsmart when they have their dollar per gallon sale.

Lighting will be one of the most expensive aspect so you need to think about what you want to keep and if your lighting can support it.

Next comes the skimmer.

Both lighting and skimmer should be quality it's worth the investment long term.

4. FaceOfDeceit

FaceOfDeceit Hockey Beard

Get a second job, and ditch all other hobbies you have. You might be able to afford it then. It's not so much the hobby that is expensive, but the incessant need to "scratch the itch."

...And if you want to spend the least amount up front, start with a 350 Gallon DT with 500 Gallons of Sumps/Fuge. It would be hard to upgrade from that.

It is a great, fun, and very educational hobby. A Fish Only tank is like marijuana...it is the gateway to dangerous things like Softies and LPS. If you're lucky, you'll kick it before the SPS bites you. Good luck, and feel free to ask as many questions as you'd like...we are here to help!

5. Reillysky3

Reillysky3 Plankton