rotifer culture with semi unexpected artemia

Discussion in 'Fish Food' started by Swisswiss, Sep 5, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Swisswiss

Swisswiss Caribbean Reef Squid

and hello again!

so iv been culturing rotifers shorty after my clowns spawned, sadly the food came a little late for the larva, but i have opted to try and test my handling on culturing rotifers.

as a noob i seem to have made a mistake already..... i provisionally stocked the live rotifers in my jbl artemia system. now the issue is that the vessel in which i placed the liquid containing the rotifers was not 100% clean. it had some artemia eggs who i thought were sterile as they did not hatch back in the days.....

clearly i was wrong...... after having transferred the rotifers+ involuntarily the eggs to a 10l tank the eggs have hatched and i now have several artemia swimming around in my rotifer culture.

now... a) what are the actual risks of raising both artemia and rotifers together?

b) in terms of feeding, i keep a light green tint with a Nannochloropsis & Tetraselmis Phytoplanktonin mix. the water becomes almost transparent under 24h, i see the rotifers in the water column (i dont have microscope eyes but i do see alot of little white dots with little white dots under them....dont laugh...im assuming these are the rotifers with their egg pouch?)
    my question is, is it the rotifers consuming the plankton or the artemia hatchlings?

thx for the tips

2. Click Here!

3. Swisswiss

Some pics....

Is the lighting enough you think?
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1378399204.605935.jpg

Artemia swimming around
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1378399238.441562.jpg

A crappy picture....
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1378399266.485662.jpg

4. Rhameolution

Rhameolution Spanish Shawl Nudibranch