RM's 30g planted (updated pics 01/03/11)

Discussion in 'The Planted Tank' started by reefmonkey, Sep 16, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. reefmonkey

reefmonkey Giant Squid

Now that I am an expert reef keeper (HAHA RIIIIGHT ;D ) I decided to try another little challenge and set up a 30 gallon freshwater. I've never done a planted tank, always the plastic fakes, and after looking at pics of some like 2in10's decided I wanted to experience one for myself. I'm a newbie all over again and already learning fast about what works and what doesn't. The tank has the stock lighting which isn't near enough so I've already had to order a new PC fixture that will move me up into the mid range of light levels. lol.
    Inhabitants are a handful of guppies, 5 mystery snails and a pleco.

Here it is so far.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

babies already!!
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
    1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. kcbrad

kcbrad Giant Squid

Looking great! Awww babies!! :) Do you have a baby box thingy for them, so they don't get eaten?

Can't wait to see growth pics - of plants and little fishies!

1 person likes this.
  4. steve wright

steve wright Super Moderator

looks pretty cool to me Reefmonkey

Steve

1 person likes this.
  5. bama

bama Humpback Whale

very cool. I wish I had the extra space to do a large freshwater planted tank.

1 person likes this.
  6. reefmonkey

reefmonkey Giant Squid

Nope, no fry box. but there is plenty of hiding spots in the plants and the driftwood.

I hope I can get the plants to grow! The more I read, the more work I see it being. LOL Almost as much work as a reef tank.

7. kcbrad

kcbrad Giant Squid

Yes, fry box. LOL That's the correct term. Though I like baby box thingy better :).

Good luck with the plants! If you can get them to grow, you might inspire me to set up a planted tank! Now, that's a lot of pressure :) Haha jk

8. Click Here!

9. 2in10