Rid of my DIY LED, Switched to 400w MH

Discussion in 'Reef Lighting' started by droopymatt, Aug 16, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. droopymatt

droopymatt Bristle Worm

so after nine months of literally no growth in my 65 reef i have abandoned my DIY LED setup and switched to 400w metal halide. Ive seen more growth in 4 days of MH then the nine months of LED...while I think LED IS the future, IME the technology just is not there yet for DIY. There are some INCREDIBLE manufactured LED lights on the market, I have no experience with those lol, but man, i wouldve ultimatly saved hundreds of dollars had i just gone MH from the get go. Now I havent totally given up on my LEDs but all im running now are the UVs and the royal blues...24 total in case you were curious.. So what im getting at i guess is am I the only having this type of experience or are other LED people going back to older style lighting? :confused::confused:

2. Click Here!

3. Reef Breeders

Reef Breeders 3reef Sponsor

What kind of LEDs, exactly how many of each spectrum? What brand?

4. Sacul1573

Sacul1573 Millepora

Yes, please detail you led DIY build.

I have seen many led DIY yield excellent growth to all types of corals.

5. droopymatt

droopymatt Bristle Worm

cree, started with 18rb 18cw, added 8ww and 3uv 3rb about four months later. all from rapid led. dimmable ballasts and reef angel to control it all. I was consistantly needing to make adjustments to the setup and some corals would do ok, most everything opened but nothing thrived.

im going to post a couple pics shortly

6. Thatgrimguy

Thatgrimguy Flying Squid

I just posted this on my local forum under the title "LEDs don't grow sps" just to poke fun at these type threads (Not in any way an attack on you personally) But I do feel that these threads are always an issue with the wrong leds, not leds in general.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]