Required items and budget for a 180 gal reef

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by elwolfe, Jun 6, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. elwolfe

elwolfe Coral Banded Shrimp

Hey everyone,
    I'm a total noob, and am researching the equipment required (and cost) to get a reef system going. Current plan is to have a 180 gal. DT (72”x24”x24”) with a 40 gal. fuge/sump (and everything else) in the basement. I’ll have about a 10’ rise and 6’ horizontal run for the drain/return.

I spec’d what I understand to be high quality equipment, if any of you have had negative experiences with anything listed please let me know. So… without further ado, here’s a list of equipment (consumables not accounted for) that I think I need (most pricing is from www.bulkreefsupply.com):

• 180 gal. acrylic aquarium - $1900
    • Materials for tank stand - $500 (DIY)
    • Materials for 40 gal. sump/refugium - $200 (DIY)
    • Bubble King Supermarin 200 Protein Skimmer - $1565
    • GEO Calcium Reactor 624 w/ Panworld 30PX – $525
    • Digital Aquatics ReefKeeper Elite w/Net - $475
    • 75 GPD RO/DI 6 Stage Chloramines Deluxe System - $280
    • UF-20 Universal Media Reactor - $110
    • Ozotech Poseidon Ozone Generator 200 mg/hr (variable output) - $240
    • ReeFlo Hammerhead 5800 GPH - $400
    • 6' 3x250W HQI / 4x39W T5 Maristar Ballast / Bracket / Bulb Package - $1230
    • 4x Tunze Nanostream 6045 powerheads - $345
    • LiterMeter 3 Peristaltic Dosing Pump - $340
    • 40 Watt (260 Gallon) Emperor Aquatics Smart UV - $340
    • JBJ MINI Arctica Chiller 1/5 HP - $575
    • Finnex 300W Submersible Digital Heater (x3) - $75
    • JBJ ATO system - $80
    • 200 lbs. Reef Saver Eco Dry Live Rock @2.49/lb - $500
    • Live Sand - 200 lbs. - $520
    • Misc. supplies for quarantine tank - $300
    • Misc. plumbing/valves, etc… - $250

So…. Here are the questions I have: