Reef Octopus BH2000 question

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers' started by billybaldwin3, Mar 11, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. billybaldwin3

billybaldwin3 Skunk Shrimp

as many of u know i am new to saltwater, SO, i've never used a protein skimmer....

and there is a hole below the collection cup, am i supposed to keep the collection cup above this and let it vent or something? or should i lower it enough to cover it?

or is this something i just need to figure out as it's working?

i just dont want to do something i'm not supposed to and have it not function properly.

i'm pointing at the hole in the picture...

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. sailorguy

sailorguy Torch Coral

I believe that is a overflow hole to help water escape into the return chamber.It would be best not to allow the collection cup to cover it.During break in you will need the cup set much higher than that and even after break in it's not likely that you will need the cup set that low.

4. billybaldwin3

yep, i went to coralvue's website and that's what they said. :)

5. abus500

abus500 Plankton

Hole

Yup, if you make sure the black plastic screw is set in (pushes the collection cup slightly to the right) it will allow the water to flow to the side. I currently have my collection cup set quite a bit lower than the hole. take a look at the picture I attached.

Also, the return pipe, i tilted it sideways to lower the water level. I did this because I got nervous. Sometimes, when you add stuff in your tank (food, dosing etc) I noticed he foam production to get right at about the top side of the edge. I felt more comfortable having the water level sit a bit lower and push my collection cup a bit lower as well...

I also took the sponge and moved it up to the top. It made it easier to clean.