Random questions from a beginner

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by willertac, Dec 30, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. willertac

willertac Plankton

I'm only new to saltwater; I have been keeping freshwater fish for a very long time, and I've been observing my step-mom's tank for the year that she has had it running, and now I know what I definitely will and will not do with my water and fish. I've read many things on care and spent the past year carefully choosing my equipment and deciding my path. But there are still some things that cannot be answered by watching her tank and her lack of QT and reading all I have. So, that's where you guys hopefully come in.

The following questions are from random aspects of the hobby.
    1. What is an ideal size for a QT (I plan on having only one tank for medical and acclimation)?
    2. If I eventually plan on going reef, what lighting might be the best for me (... I have a limited budget...)?
    3. I have an Aqueon 55/75... would adding an Aquaclear 110 work, or should I look for more filtration? (I also have a Reef Octopus BH100 skimmer, 2 Koralia 425 powerheads, and at least 70 lbs of base rock for a 55g tank)
    4. How does one quarantine live rock?
    5. When can corals, other invertebrates (snails, shrimp, clams, etc), and LR be added?
    6. How would one quarantine corals?

All I'm waiting on is a hose for my RO/DI system to connect to... and possibly some other things based on your answers.

2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Well those are a lot of good questions.

1. Depends on what type of fish you want to QT. I think a 20 is ideal for smaller fish like clowns, damsel, gobies.....What size is your display?
    2. Depends on your budget. You can go from Power Compacts which will get the job done with limited results or a budget LED fixture like Reefbreeders?
    3. I have no idea.