questions about live rock

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by 1dayteam120, Dec 28, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. 1dayteam120

1dayteam120 Astrea Snail

I am new to the hobby and I have two tanks these are both my first tanks I am about to start. What do you suggest I look for in live rock before purchasing it? Is there anything I should know before I buy this live rock? Any suggestions are more than welcome lol

-Travis

2. Click Here!

3. junior279

junior279 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

You might want to consider using dry rock. Its cheaper and you don't have to worry about hitchhikers. I used it and seeded my tank with Dr. Tims "one and only" bacteria.

4. Marshall O

Marshall O Giant Squid

If you are doing a reef tank, I would use at least half LR, half dry. If it is a fish only, then you can go with almost all dry. I personally like the diversity of life that comes with LR, between inverts & macroalgae. 7 months in and I still find something new each week. And there really have not been any bad hitchhikers (for me anyways) besides a mantis shrimp, who is now living in my refugium.

5. dsmerf214

dsmerf214 Fire Shrimp

everyone is going to answer differently here, but basically you want to look for shapes you like. Have you decided what kind of aquascape you want? keep that in mind when you are looking for rock. I agree with marshall, I personally like getting all the surprises that LR brings, but you can do half live and half dry rock. much cheaper

6. N00ZE

N00ZE Eyelash Blennie

Whenever possible it is best to purchase live rock from a local fish store or wholesaler, because most have live rock in stock that is cured and ready to go, and you can physically see it before buying. Here are some buying points on what to look for and questions you should ask:

Tips For Buying Live Rock From A Local Fish Store