Question

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Tanks' started by ed5480, Dec 14, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. ed5480

ed5480 Plankton

Ok so im new at the freshwater fish tank. actually new to fish tanks all together. I have a 30 gallon tank with a millennium 3000 filter. i put water in after wiping everything down with a wet sponge. Now there are small white particals in the water that are coming from the sink so i know its not gravel dust or dust from the fake plants/fake rock. I have no fish yet because i know the tank hasnt cycled yet. Also the water isnt perfectly clear its pretty foggy when looking through the tank longways. My question is will all these im purities be filtered out over the next few days or should i find a new water source. The water was treated with Seachem Prime as well. Ive read up but i couldnt realy find out if other peoples tap water had small white particals in it. It really does looklike dust. Thanks

2. Click Here!

3. ed5480

ed5480 Plankton

ok well the stuff in not getting filtered out and the way i can tell is because i can add a glass under the area where the filter puts out water, im only getting the water that comes out of the filter and there are still small dust looking particals in it.

4. Froc3

Froc3 Fire Goby

Welcome to 3reef. And i've never seen them in my tap water. I would try running some carbon in your tank.

5. phoenixhieghts

phoenixhieghts Panda Puffer

I think it could be limescale - do you live in a hard water area? Dont worry, the filter will eventually get rid of it all. As previously stated you could add some chemical filtration, but wait until your tank has cycled as this type of filtration will slow the cycle down.

6. ed5480

ed5480 Plankton