Question about Eco Complete

Discussion in 'The Planted Tank' started by Lady J, Aug 29, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Lady J

    Lady J Peppermint Shrimp

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    If I switched my substrate from sand to Eco Complete would I still need to add fertilizer or would carbon and Seachem Trace be enough?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    You will still need to dose like with your sand as it is mainly inert.
     
  4. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    It's not really sand - it's a substrate. And it is loaded with supplements specifically for plants, so no dosing required. I don't have experience with it, but the reviews are good.
     
  5. Blue Falcon

    Blue Falcon Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    NC
    Both Matt and john are correct IMO. Eco complete does come packed with nutrients for plants, but depending on the demand for nutrients, It will be absorbed by the plants and will require additional dosing down the road. Every tank is different when it comes to nutrient demand. With high light and CO2 injection you will most definitively need to dose right off the bat. However with a low light/ low maintenance tank, you may never need to dose.
     
  6. Lady J

    Lady J Peppermint Shrimp

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Thank you all for your responses. Unfortunately I still haven't been able to get the fertilizers and I'm getting algae on my plants. I wasn't sure if adding fertilizers to the water column and having them in the substrate would be too much. My tank is only medium planted and I have 2.5w. per gallon with t5s. As John knows, I've been dosing carbon and Seachem Trace but I really need to start adding fertilizers.

    As much as I like the look of a black substrate this will be a bit costly to change from sand to Eco Complete and get fertilizers, so, I guess I'll get the dry ferts. that John has suggested. Again, thanks for your input as I'm definitely still learning. :) I need to follow the advice of those who know so that my tank thrives. The plants are growing nicely though but I need to get rid of the little bit of algae that's on them.