Product Questions?

Discussion in 'DrTim's Aquatics' started by jwmaynard, Jan 13, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. jwmaynard

jwmaynard Plankton

I have been using your products for a few years off and on and I think I have had decent results using them. I did however just notice on your site that I should use Waste Away, Eco Balance and First Defense at the same time. This isn't on the bottles anywhere so I didn't know not to it. I used all three at one time and now I have what looks like RTN on most my montipora and some of my acro's. Not saying it was you products that did this but something happened and quickly. I had all of my water parameters tested professionally (I send it in for testing every other month) a few weeks ago and everything was stable in the tank. I test at home weekly and haven't seen anything change. No new deaths Cal/Alk/Mag all stable no algae pos or nit problems.

So my question is did mixing these products do something nasty to the bacteria in the tank? What protocol should I use to fix it? How should I use your Eco Balance and Waste Away?

2. Click Here!

3. Coasterofluv

Coasterofluv Fire Worm

were you having issues with your tank that led you to use these products in the first place?

4. DrTim

DrTim 3reef Sponsor

hello

The site says NOT to use all three products at once. You forget to write 'not' in you post.

The reasons not to use them together are:

Waste-Away and Eco-Balance are both live bacteria products and by adding both at the same time you run the risk of over-dosing the system with bacteria.

First Defense includes vitamins which can stimulate bacterial grow so you don't want to add it at the same time you add Waste-Away/Eco-Balance because it may cause the bacteria to bloom.

The products do not do anything "nasty" to the bacteria in the tank or in the bottle. Did your water ever turn cloudy?