Please help with a suggestion for LED lights for 36" long by 13 high tank

Discussion in 'LED Aquarium Lighting' started by eddie2OOO, May 14, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. eddie2OOO

eddie2OOO Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I just got me a new NUVO 24 Gallon tank
    Innovative Marine
    Beautiful tank! But now I need to get the right lights for it. I am very new to lighting systems as I am graduating from a 6 gallon pico reef with a couple of T5's to looking into LEDs. I do not want to spend another $500 on the lights company suggests. And other lights that I am looking at (in under $250) that are 36" long are designed for higher tanks. As I've mentioned tanks dimensions are as follow – 36 x 13 x 9.5 (I know unusual - which is what makes my choices a bit difficult) I was initially looking at 'Marineland 36" Reef Capable LED Lighting System – With Timer' for $250 Marineland Reef Capable LED Lighting System - WITH TIMER Aquarium LED Light Fixtures but after reading very negative reviews for providing yellowish tones and not providing enough light and being discouraged by my LFS for burning corals because of direct beams decided to find an alternative. I mostly have softies (a large frogspawn, a few torches, a hammer, a large candy cane and the rest are zoas.) If you can recommend a brand or a specific model or even intensity and the temperature that I should be looking for, please let me know. Thank you all for looking.

Ed

2. Click Here!

3. eddie2OOO

One more thing - i am looking at a used AquaticLife 36in 54 1W LEDs for $125. Any thoughts?

4. Marshall O

Marshall O Giant Squid

As you thought, stay far, far away from the Marineland lights. That's all I will say about that.