PC Lighting vs MH Lighting?

Discussion in 'Metal Halide Aquarium Lighting' started by gamma, Mar 18, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. gamma

gamma Spaghetti Worm

Ok, I'm a newbie to all this and am still in the process of purchasing all my equipment. I currently have on order w/ my LFS a 120g acrylic 4x2x2. The dealer sold me PC lighting, but now I hear that I should go to MH lighting if I want to have eventually want to have corals and clams. I've heard that I can get by w/ the PC lighting. I haven't p/u any of the equipment yet, so I'm still in a position to change my order to MH if I want to.

Which system would be best for my setup?
    Are there any particular models or brand names I should look into?
    Do I need it to be retrofit if I'm using a canopy?
    What's the diff between eballast, electric ballast & just a ballast?

endless questions...(is there a limit to how many questions I can ask)

:-/confused,

GaMma

2. Click Here!

3. Malachi

Malachi Sea Dragon

I just upgraded from PC (4x96) to MH (2x175)+VHO (2x95) and the difference is amazing, no comparision. One main reason for my upgrade was to get a clam.

4. gamma

gamma Spaghetti Worm

I'm almost positive that's what I have the PC (4x96w). What was the price difference between the 2 systems?

5. Malachi

Malachi Sea Dragon

I think around $400 for PC and $599.99 for MH/VHO. That was from my LFS, which is a good price.

6. Malachi

Malachi Sea Dragon

7. gamma

gamma Spaghetti Worm

I think I paid just under $400 for mine. I noticed that there are several diff ver's: MH only, MH & STD, MH & VHO, MH & PC. Which ver would be adequate for my setup, what would be the most ideal? Also, I really don't want to upgrade down the line so what should I go with? Also, if my tank is 4' is it normal to get 3' lighting or 4'?

GaMmA

8. Click Here!

9. Malachi

Malachi Sea Dragon