? on popping circut breaker.

Discussion in 'Reef Lighting' started by fishoholic, Dec 4, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. 10acrewoods

    10acrewoods Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Carbondale Il
    I have herd it all now the fish that stold christmas :fish:
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. RemickJ

    RemickJ Teardrop Maxima Clam

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    821
    Location:
    Pennsylvania

    I was thinking the same thing.. Sorry kids the fish need their light!! :elf:

    If you have a aquarium controller you could use that.

    If MH on then Christmas Tree = Off! ;D
     
  4. 10acrewoods

    10acrewoods Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Carbondale Il
    Light the tank with christmas lights and stick a tree in the room get the best of both worlds. Or maybe light the tank with the tv just put it on a chanel with a pic of the sun. ::)
     
  5. Otty

    Otty Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,467
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, IN
    Two breakers in one is considered a single pole double throw and IS 220v because it attaches to each leg of the finger system in the distribution box.

    You need to if a Christmas tree is throwing you breaker to the tank. That mean you are on the verge of OL'ing that circuit now.
     
  6. reef_guru

    reef_guru Humpback Whale

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,752
    Location:
    joliet,il
    thank you, sir.
     
  7. homegrowncorals

    homegrowncorals Ribbon Eel

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,434
    Location:
    north carolina..obx
    gee maybe i need to look in by breaker box to see if the 3 double switches i have, 1 double 20amp and 2 double 15amp 110 volt that connect to one leg in the box have disappeared being they do not exist.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Click Here!

  9. 10acrewoods

    10acrewoods Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Carbondale Il
  10. 10acrewoods

    10acrewoods Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Carbondale Il
    Thank you. I must live in a diffrent universe and the laws of physics don't apply the same here.
     
  11. 10acrewoods

    10acrewoods Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Carbondale Il
    There is one other possible thing that could be causing this. It is rare but sometime the breakers get old and bad. I have had on very few ocasion a breaker magnitc spring go bad. Try first just to replace breaker and then worrie after that if circut is over loading. But most likly you are at over load point with tv fish tank and everything else on the same circut.
     
  12. fishoholic

    fishoholic Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    Just the 3 -250w MH are pulling 7.5 amps