odyssea PCs

Discussion in 'Reef Lighting' started by mandarin11, Aug 17, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. mandarin11

mandarin11 Peppermint Shrimp

Hey guys,

:help: I have a question on the odyssea compact fluorescent lights. I'm looking at the 48" 260W lighting system, 48" 260W (4-65 watt) Dual Strip Compact Fluorescent Light Fixture - 501031
    Is this one any good at all for a 55g reef tank? I'm interested in the beginner mushroom and soft corals, nothing complex.

I've heard mixed reviews on the odyssea lights, but it seems like all the bad reviews have been about the mh's, not the pc's. So do you guys think that I'm good with these?

And for all the hard core reefers out there I know that MH's are the way to go, but they're expensive and I'm a poor starving college student so bear with me pls.:jester:

2. Click Here!

3. lunatik_69

lunatik_69 Giant Squid

Hey mandarin11, I have a Odyssea 48" MH's and I love them, so far. The only thing That I had to do was replace the cooling fans. I installed more of them. I dont have any exp. with the pc version, but keep in mind that if you want to have all kinds of corals in the near future, you might want to save up and just get the MH's from the start. Look on ebay and look for a guy by the name of hombby, he has all the sizes.

4. Twan013

Twan013 Skunk Shrimp