Noob here, Am i getting ripped off?

Discussion in 'T5 Aquarium Lighting' started by Hasuna91, Aug 13, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Hasuna91

Hasuna91 Plankton

Hello all, im pretty new to saltwater tanks and just starting up my first. Iv always had freshwater tanks and never really knew the importance of lighting until now.

I currently have a 45 gallon. I only have live rock and plan on bringing in some fish sometime in the next 2 weeks. I would also love to bring in coral in the future, Once i feel comfortable with what i have at the moment. I have been looking everywhere and cant find the info i meet. I keep getting confused lol.

After doing alot of research i think i found what i need.

These are the specs below. Im not sure if this lighting system will work for what i need it to?

T5 HO 39Wx4
    Built in digital timer
    Total watts 156
    Individual power switches for T5HO bulbs, and LEDs
    2x39W 10000K daylight bulbs
    2x 39W True Actinic bulbs,
    3x Dual lunar LEDs .

A small LFS is selling me this for 100 bucks
    I explained what i needed and they told me it would get the job done.

Is this a good deal or am i being screwed?

TIA

2. Click Here!

3. pgoodsell

pgoodsell Horrid Stonefish

That should be fine for softies and LPS. You might need more for SPS or just have to keep them high in the tank. Whats the brand of light and bulbs?

4. jbraslins

jbraslins Teardrop Maxima Clam

It probably be a while before you're ready for SPS anyways. I think that will be a great fixture to start with.

5. Hasuna91

Hasuna91 Plankton

i just called and asked and they said they where generic

6. pgoodsell

pgoodsell Horrid Stonefish

Eventually you'll want to upgrade to ATI or Giesemann bulbs. But for fish and the soft corals the generic will do.

7. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator