Nitrate battles

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by Cheygirl8, Jun 1, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Cheygirl8

Cheygirl8 Astrea Snail

I currently am in mid war against red algae. No prob, I've been doing 15 gallon water changes every week(my poor little jugs that could .-. would you say that is enough for at least a 10% change in a 120 gal?) But my nitrates are still reading well within the 80-100ppm range. No dead fish that I see, I have been cycling for almost 4 months now. Ammonia is below 20ppm, Nitrites were under .25ppm. Ph is a little low(8-ish), but I am slowly trying to get it back up. My alkalinity is where it needs to be. But then, oh then, I spy with my little eye, a clamp I had on my return to hold the vinyl tube on the barb is rusty. Does rust cause a spike in Nitrates? Needless to say that is immediately coming off come morning since I don't want to wake my bf with my sailor's tongue because this will be an adventure trying to reach it. Definitely one of my "smartest" things I've done yet o_O 2014-06-01_22-55-15_94.jpg

2. Click Here!

3. Pete polyp

Pete polyp Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

Good call at removing the rusty clamp, there's really no telling what kind of yuck has gotten into your system. Are you sure the ammonia is 20ppm? I wouldn't think anything would live through ammonia being that high. With that level there really should be no life at all in the tank.... Fish, inverts, clean up crew, bacteria everything should die with ammonia that high.

What are the specifics of your tank? Equipment? Sand? Live rock? Total system volume? All known living inhabitants? All known dead inhabitants?

Any other information you think could be useful in helping determine where the nutrients came from could help. What test kits you're using etc.

4. Billme

Billme Eyelash Blennie