New to Salt Water.

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Ryan Duchatel, Jun 11, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Ryan Duchatel

Ryan Duchatel Millepora

Hey Guys,

I have been keeping a 2' tropical tank for about 6 months now and I am really loving getting into the hobby.

I have decided to jump straight into salt water fish now with my new purchase of a 4' tank. I would like to keep both fish and some anemonies/ small amount of coral.

I would like some comments on the set up I would like to get:
    - Aquaone Marisys 240 Filter with Protein Skimmer (I like this because it is a canister instead of sump and I wouldn't have to plumb in a sump, which frankly scares me to death lol).
    - Aquaone Artic Chiller 1/6 300 (As the room I will put it in can get quite hot even with air conditioning).
    - Heto LED lighting.
    - 300W Heater
    - Sicce Voyager 2 Stream Pump
    and possibly a hang on refugium using miracle mud.

I am worried that using all these different things attached to the tank, and not using a sump is going to look abit messy?

Could anyone give me some hints on starting up a new aquarium and hints on this set up?

Thanks in advance guys and girls. ;D

Ryan.

2. Click Here!

3. warlord

warlord Bristle Worm

Im new as well and im using a hob filter and skimmer 2. It doesnt look 2 bad to me so go for it lol but from reading other posts wait a few months before you add anemones and corals

4. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

5. cosmo

cosmo Giant Squid

Hey ryan, ryan here!;) Welcome to 3reef.

Honestly, you're building what I started with back in the day because I was afraid of stuff! After reading and learning, I'm super excited to say that I'm getting rid of that set up and just got a new tank that will have a sump/refugium. I can not wait to get that stuff out of my tank. I also can't wait to have the advantages of a sump.