New to reefing

Discussion in 'Say Hello!' started by Tristan's Nano, Sep 19, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Tristan's Nano

Tristan's Nano Plankton

Hello all, just as title states I'm fairly new to reefing and am excited to join a community of aquarist that may be able to help me make my little tank a successful venture. I currently have a 14 gallon biocube 14 lbs of live rock and 3 inch sandbed. Upgrades to tank include hydor circulating pump return outlet, 2 koralia nano powerheads, 1st chamber removed false floor with biocube skimmer, 2nd chamber with intank media basket running filter floss on top of phosfiltrum on 1st shelf, purigen on second shelf, chemipure elite on bottom shelf. 3rd chamber houses stock return pump with biocube uv sterilizer and temperature probe. Lighting is stock with addition of another blue led in open slot. My nano has a bit of a bioload with some stuff better suited for larger tank that I am working on convincing wife I need. My livestock includes
    4 percula clowns
    1 3 inch yellow tang
    1 sand sifting starfish
    1 fire shrimp
    4 blue leg hermits
    1 scarlet hermit
    2 nassarius snails
    1 snail of which I don't know what kind but he's probably my best cleaner and his shell has been growing
    2 hitchhiker limpets. I don't know where they came from but they cruise all over my lr and seem to be doing more good than bad so I let them stay. My corals are all small frags that include
    2 mushroom leathers
    2 mushrooms
    1 bubble coral that lfs gave me for free due to broken skeleton that is doing great and seems all healed up.
    1 chalice
    1 pink birdsnest that extends polyps but is lightening in color
    few different small colonies of zoas
    5 head acan
    1 torch
    2 head hammer
    1 head frogspawn
    4 head duncan that I think is about to sprout new head
    1 colony green star polyps that is growing like crazy