New Setup...New Hobby!

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Jokko453, Feb 20, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Jokko453

Jokko453 Plankton

Hey everyone,
    I'm New to the hobby...Finally went out and bought the last RSM at my local store (a few months of research and weeks of debating over the tank). I have 20 pounds of sand and about 45 pounds of rock (half live, half base).

Now for some questions! I got different answers from different people at the salt water store I bought the setup at regarding lighting during the cycling process. On or Off? Right now I'm running them for 6 hours a day (only been set up for 4 days). Also.. algae. Right now im getting some green slime on some of the base rock. I was told the first thing I would see is the brown algae (forgive my lack of an algae vocabulary)... so I don't know if this is bad or not.

And last question.... Aquascape! I like mine...but I dont know if it will limit what type of corals I can have or how many...I am always willing to re-do it. My concern is the possible lack of light on the lower haf of the tank.

Thanks in advance!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Click Here!

3. Otty

Otty Giant Squid

Welcome to 3reef!
    Shut the lights off during the cycle, all it does is fuel algae. If you stacked the rock on top of the sand make sure you watch getting any golbys because they will dig to the side of the rock and shift the foundation.
    Nice set up you have going. Just take your time, this is not a race!

1 person likes this.
  4. omard

omard Gnarly Old Codfish

[​IMG]

To 3Reef!!!

Salutations! Glad to see you found way here!

Congrats on joining the SW world.

Your rock and tank look great. Just make sure all is good and stable.

Take some time to read while cycling. Ask all the questions you want. Few LFS employees have the experience that 3Reef members do.

Good Luck.

Keep us posted!

[​IMG]

The Tao of Marine Aquaria