new reefer

Discussion in 'Say Hello!' started by tharsis, Apr 10, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. tharsis

tharsis Peppermint Shrimp

Hey,

I have been keeping freshwater planted tanks for many years, I am currently running a 75 gallon freshwater tank with 4 x 54 watt t5ho bulbs, dosing fertilizers and using a pressurized CO2 system. The tank is doing great but I must admit I was getting a little bored with it, so when my wife suggested I start a saltwater tank (so that my kids could keep a nemo ;)) I jumped at the opportunity.

I started with an old 10 gallon tank that I had laying around.

Specs:

standard 10 gallon tank
    20" t5ho odyssea fixture (2 x 10000 and 2 x actinics)
    marineland penguin 200 HOB, retrofit as a fuge (heater/chaeto/rubble)
    using RO/DI
    coralife saltmix
    20% weekly water change
    crushed coral substrate (my first mistake haha, but I am slowly siphoning out the gravel and replacing with live sand)

Stocking:

2 tank raised percs
    2 peppermint shrimp
    CUC - nerites, nassarius, ceriths, dwarf ceriths,
    Hitchhikers - brittle stars, bristle worms, stomatella, tons of pods

shrooms - blue, green, orange
    ricordia - green, orange
    GSP
    Kenya tree
    Zoas

Things are going pretty well right now, no issues other than I am getting a green dust algae outbreak on my gravel , mostly from overfeeding I believe. It is hard to say no to the clowns, they are like little puppies begging for food. The corals are doing ok, I just put them in a few days ago so they are still acting annoyed.

So that is all, just wanted to say hi and I look forward to learning tons on here. I already know that I will probably be upgrading to a larger tank so I will be doing a lot of research on here on how to set up a sump/fuge etc. I really would like to do a 40 breeder with a 20 long as a sump...just have to wait for the $1/gallon sale at petco :)

2. Click Here!

3. khowst