New Here - Need Advice!

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by JackRyan, Nov 9, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. JackRyan

JackRyan Astrea Snail

Hello everyone,

Sorry if you saw my post in the introduction forum.

I know there are tons of similar threads on this and I've tried to read them all but would feel more comfortable with my own. I am new to saltwater and have been researching for a while what I would need to get started. Below is what I have or am planning on purchasing. I would really appreciate any advice or suggestions!

First off, I would like my tank to be relatively simple/easy to care fish, inverts and bright colorful corals (not SPS or claims as I've head they are more difficult). The only thing I have purchased at the moment is the 55 gallon tank with stand (4 foot tank). Below is the equipment I am planning on purchasing:

Filter: Eshopps WD-75CS Wet Dry Filter - 10 to 75 gallons - 18 in. x 10 in. x 16 in.

Protein Skimmer: Eshopps Protein Skimmer PSK-75 (made to sit in sump)

Pump: Marine land NJ1800 Maxi jet 474 GPH

Lighting: 48’’ 260w PI aquarium light reef marine (Amazon.com: 48" 260w Pl Aquarium Light Reef Marine Fish Tank Hood Light: Pet Supplies)

Circulation Pump: Hydor Koralia Evolution 750 Aquarium

Is there any other essential equipment I would need to purchase to get this project running?
    Also, I am having a little trouble determining which sand to purchase and what kind or amount of live rock. I’ve heard you need about a pound or each per gallon or water.

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestion, I hope I'll be able to contribute more in the future.

2. Click Here!

3. PghSteeler

PghSteeler Tassled File Fish