New Green Star Polyps Not Showing?

Discussion in 'Soft Corals' started by damphir, Sep 4, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. damphir

damphir Plankton

Hi All,

As I am a new poster and am new to the reef aquarium, this may be an ignorant post. What makes it worse is I have a degree in marine biology (elasmobranchology to be more exact). I have just purchased a green star polyp from my local PETCO. I got it home and had one 48 W Coralife flouroescent fixture with 10000k and blue actinic bulbs and did not see any life from my coral, just a few polyps here and there. It looked totally different from the pet store. So the next day I bought a Coralife Compact FLo. 65 watt set up with a 50/50 bulb. I finally got some action the following day the polyps seemed to come up and be pretty active. Tonight I got home from work after leaving the lights on all day, and nothing. There seems to be some type of algae on the plant but its hard to tell, but I am only seeing a few sprout up at a time on a fragment of about 200 polyps. Should I be worried? I have it sitting in the middle of the tank underneath the Compact FLO light. I have a calcium level of about 375 and have been supplementing daily.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Damp.

Edit: 55g tank, 35# live rock. two powerheads. 50# live sand,

Last edited: Sep 4, 2007
  2. Click Here!

3. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

Hi Damp, welcome to 3reef!!!
    As for the star polyps, sometimes you have to give them a chance to adapt and adjust to both your water parameters and lighting arrangement as I am sure they are different from Petco's.
    Calcium has little impact on star polyps as they don't excrete a calcium carbonate skeleton therefore are not hermatypic!