Need some help with new tank

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Tundraburg, Aug 18, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Tundraburg

Tundraburg Bristle Worm

Hello All,

I am new to saltwater. I have done some reading and would like some input from others

My current set up is:

20 Gallon high tank
    Penguin 350 biowheel with carbon filters
    200 watt automatic heater set at 78°F/26°C
    10 gallon air pump with about a 1 foot air stone
    20 watt ligh (I assume its fluoresncent????)
    about 20-30 lbs of sand from beach (its very fine)
    about 20-30 lbs of rocks
    15 gallons of ocean water witha few gallons of de-chlorinated tap water
    The tank sits on a custommade stand i made that took me a few days to make (I am very proud of the stand since i made it match the decor of my room furniture)

Fish and Friends:
    (1) 3" Queen Angelfish
    (1) 3" Dancer
    (3) 1" Trigger fish
    (1) 1" 4 eyes Butterfly
    (1) 3" Fish thats likes to get under the sand, he is slender and light brown/light orange in color, has stripes
    (3) Sea Urchins
    [5-8] hermit crabs
    [5-8] sea slugs

By the way all the fish were caught a few days ago from beaches in south florida (not baught at your local pet store)

I tested the following chemical yesterday and go the following results:
    Nitrate 0
    Nitrite 0
    Ammonia 0
    PH ~8.2
    Salinity 1.021-1.022
    Water Temp 79°F +1°F