Need bulb help

Discussion in 'Metal Halide Aquarium Lighting' started by Raul Badillo, Jan 31, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Raul Badillo

Raul Badillo Astrea Snail

Hi guys, well i really need some help. I am new to metal halides and when i bought my system i did not ask about the lighting. Now one of my bulbs is out and I dont know what i can get. What was in it was a 250 watt corallife mongul base. What i know is my ballast is a older magnetic ballast. My buddy that owns the LFS had two coralvue bulbs that he let me try out but they dont start up. They are brand new and from doing a little research i know that they are a pulse start bulb and my old bulb is a probe start. Now, i cant remove my ballast as they are in a hard to reach area. I can get another coralife bulb but want better ones. Can someone help me find the best 12k 250w single ended probe start bulb that will work with my magnetic ballast? Thank you. You can even text me at 701 541 1246. My name is Raul. Again thank you.

1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. lillys Grandad

lillys Grandad Horrid Stonefish

..sounds familiar...I could fill the ocean with stuff that wasn't told to me until after I started...LOL, questions are good.
    So as for your light, I had one like that..I do recall it was an expensive bulb..I just checked ebay, and it looks like they have not come down a bit. : ( But, I seen some out there..if you wanna pay the freight....
    Is this the beast?
    Reeflux 250W 250 Watt 12K Metal Halide Single Ended | eBay

4. Raul Badillo

same style bulb but not the correct type, i have a probe start bulb not a pulse start.

Last edited: Feb 1, 2012
  5. steve wright

steve wright Super Moderator

6. lillys Grandad

lillys Grandad Horrid Stonefish

sorry, I had it backwards...that sux...might be time to upgrade already?;D

7. steve wright

from Googling for a short time