mystery plague is driving me from this hobby

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by bpayh, Oct 9, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bpayh

bpayh Astrea Snail

>:(

hey
    i'm pretty new to the hobby.  long-time admirer, short-time fish-keeper.  i've got a 5-gallon FW that's doing "swimmingly" if you know what i mean, but i'm trying to set up a 10-gallon SW and i have had almost no luck whatsoever.

[ yeah the tanks are small but that's because i'm renting.  in order to get bigger tanks i'd need to get renter's insurance and that just doesn't fit in the budget ]

i've been trying to cycle my 10-gallon but all the fish die.  i started with a pair of yellowtail damsels, and the one beat up on the other (nipped its fins to shreds) that i gave the nipped one away to a better home.  a couple of days later i noticed rising nitrite levels, although they were still well within reasonable limits--a good sign.  the next day, my damsel was upside down on the bottom of the tank.

i got a green chromis to keep the cycle going.  it died within 48 hours.  all measurable water parameters read normal.

i replaced the green chromis with another (this is from Petco, so it's not costing me extra money at this point).  it died within 24 hours.  water parameters normal.

i replaced it with a pair of green chromis.  they died within 24 hours.  all water parameters read NORMAL!  temperature is steady at 74 degrees F.  specific gravity is steady at 1.023.  inspection of the filter reveals nothing unusual--it looks fine.

i have been careful to acclimate all these fish both temperature-wise and salinity-wise before introducing them to the tank. i have observed a good feeding response from almost all of them, and they still died within 24 hours.

i do have a starfish in the tank (see my other thread in the newby section), perhaps it is somehow responsible for all this?  maybe it is some weird strain that releases toxins into the water?