My First tank - Did the LFS mislead me?

Discussion in 'General Reef Topics' started by SammyP, Dec 1, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. SammyP

SammyP Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

Well as I have been posting on different threads and reading other help threads, I have come to realize two things…
    1. I have no clue what I’m doing
    2. Never trust the LFS
    Hers my story,
    I bought a beautiful Fluval Edge 6Gal tank because the LFS guy said it could be easily turned into a “Nano SW tank.” I didn’t realize that Nano tanks were still a pretty new concept and I didn’t realize that I was thrown into an expert’s world; while I am still learning how things even work.

So as I said I purchased a 6Gal Fluval Edge. With it I also bought a 7lb piece of live rock and 11lbs of live sand. (this was all recommended by my lfs)

He said my tank would 4 weeks to cycle but bring a sample around 3 weeks. At about 3.5-4 weeks I brought my sample in and he said I was ok to start adding fish. In my Excitement I picked out 4 damsels (2 striped 2 domino) and 3 snails, 4 days later, my domino fish turned white and died. This happened on Nov 13th. So I took a water sample in and he started to explain nitrites and nitrates and that my nitrites were off the charts, I remember the tube test was purple (light blue is good), So he said let everything sit for a week or so and bring in another sample. The sample was good and he said it was of if I bought another Damsel so I bought another Domino, which one only lasted 2-3 days as well then they died. On Nov 22 One if the original 3 striped Damsel fish passed away and on the 25 the last Damsel I had in the tank died. All three of the last fish dies when my water was testing healthy. I let the tank sit with no fish in it for a couple days, and then just the other day I bought 2 more Domino Damsels, one died the next day and the other died last night (he lasted 3 days)