My ( first salt water) 75 Gallon build

Discussion in 'Show Off Your Fish Tanks!' started by Roccus, Jul 17, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Roccus

Roccus Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I gave some pictures and insight during my introduction( in another thread) here...Now I'm going to show how I have progressed to the point I am at now... I've been keeping F/W and pond fish for over 50 years.. this is my first Salt/reef build... it started in March as a birthday gift ( given in February) I've had to scratch up pictures and this will take awhile..so be patient... hopefully what I have experienced can help others just starting out...

I started with a 75 gallon long the plan was to put it in my foyer...I put the plumbing through the wall down to where my 27 gallon DIY sump would be housed... I cut in a 20 Amp GFI protected circuit with feeders to the basement and display tank to provide power separate from the house circuits ( thus a vacuum cleaner or toaster could not take out the pumps and filter)... I modified the stand ( more on that latter) I ordered 50lbs of base rock and 50lbs of live rock for the display.. the tank was filled with a 3" "live" sand bed ( crushed shells and medium sand)...it was laid over a section of ventilation grate ( used in suspended ceilings) my base rock was hot glued to it so it could not move ...which is a blessing now as my diamond watch gobie has totally rearranged the sand scape... to be continued: wall%20install[1].jpg Tank%202[1].jpg Salt%20water%20day%203[1].jpg

Billme likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. Roccus