My Biopellet Crisis of Faith

Discussion in 'General Reef Topics' started by Servillius, Jan 31, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Servillius

Servillius Montipora Digitata

Allow me to tell a little story...

About 4 months ago I was running biopellets (EcoBak) in a Phosban reactor powered by a MJ1200. I had been running them since October of 2011 and things were looking good. If you search my other threads, I had corals growing and colors brightening nicely.

Then one day I noticed that phosphates were creeping up slowly. I didn't want to do anything drastic, so I took a whack at the phosphates and got them down. Within days, my system was crashing. With all the news on fora about biopellet crashes, I assumed they were the problem and yanked them. I then started doing lots of big water changes (10 gallons twice a week on a roughly 60g system).

For a while, things started getting better. Then they started getting worse again (I backed down to 8g a week on water changes after the first few weeks). I couldn't figure out why. It took an almost toal collapse of my sps before I figured it out. My nitrate test kit was toast, the readings were way off.

Well, I hit the tank with vodka, more water changes, and decided to reinstall biopellets. I went with EcoBak, but this time I bought what I believe is a much better designed reactor. I've been waiting for weeks to see if the biopellets would kick in.

3 days ago my phosphates stopped fighting my GFO (the GFO is off the system now and the phosphates remain 0), by skimmer started producing more agressively and my tank two part consumption went from 20ml a day to 60ml a day. Growth tips are sprouting everywhere.