moorish idol- week 10

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by chum, Sep 17, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. chum

chum Coral Banded Shrimp

i ordered this fish on tuesday night and should be here soon. i have been keeping saltwater fish for 15 years but i am still nervous about this one. i never had one and i know the odds are against me but my kids had me convinced i could do it. i feed my tank lrs fish and herbivore frenzy, new life spectrum, and algae sheets. the tank is 125 gallon with a 5" tusk,5" marroon clown, a small blue damsel and a false lemon peel angel. if anyone has any input i would be thankful.

2. Click Here!

3. APC

APC Gigas Clam

I am worried the clown and damsel will pick at the long fins of the Moorish Idol. Maybe try to rearrange the rocks/reef in your tank before you put him in to make it "new" to all of the fish and break up territories.

4. chum

chum Coral Banded Shrimp

the clown is 14 years old and pretty mellow at this stage and the damsel is so small it stays away from everyone. but adding a new fish always has its risk. thanks for the input.

Swisswiss likes this.
  5. Va Reef

Va Reef Giant Squid

I'd be more worried about the lemon peel above all, however all of your fish listed usually are aggressive once established.

I would look into the fish's feeding habits in the wild and try to replicate it as much as possible. Definitely try to include sponge and make the diet as varied as possible. Another good food would be nutramar ova. Feed multiple times a day.

Best of luck.

Vinnyboombatz and Swisswiss like this.
  6. chum

chum Coral Banded Shrimp

thanks va, still waiting for it to land.

7. civiccars2003

civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

Did it arrive? I have no advice for you, but I would leave these guys in the ocean.

8. Click Here!

9. chum

chum Coral Banded Shrimp