minimum tank size for crocea clam

Discussion in 'Clams' started by stepho, Aug 11, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. stepho

    stepho Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,118
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    Hello everyone.

    I am planning a small tank, hopefully around 30gal or smaller in a cube shape. It is going to have strong lighting (MH) and I would like to keep SPS corals with the clam. I was thinking Crocea would be best for me. I heard they stay the smallest and require strong lighting, which I will have.

    Any thoughts?

    Do SPS and clams do well together?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Daniel072

    Daniel072 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,677
    I personally think you may have a hard time keeping the water in a tank that small stable enough for sps. with that being said, it's worth a shot and yes a crocea would be fine in there and they do great with sps. remember sps=stability promotes success (god that's corny but true) Good luck bro
     
  4. stepho

    stepho Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,118
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    Thanks. I plan on making up for the DT water volume with a large sump, ATO, and possibly a controller.
     
  5. Daniel072

    Daniel072 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,677
    Nice, just make sure that you have enough flow to keep your sps happy. That's a mistake that alot of people make when trying sps. As far as your clam goes, they aren't that difficult. CA, ALK, and MAG
     
  6. tigermike74

    tigermike74 Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Location:
    Southern CA
    Don't crocea clams grow huge? I thought they were in the giant clam family?
     
  7. Dr.Fragenstein

    Dr.Fragenstein Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,108
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    Croceas are the smallest of the "giant" clams... It will not exceed 6" across TOPS!
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. stepho

    stepho Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,118
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    Good, thats what I thought.

    What about flow requirements for Croceas? liveaquaria says they require medium flow.
     
  10. Daniel072

    Daniel072 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,677
    ehhh moderate. My crocea's mantle gets blown quite a bit and it don't seem to mine. I get really good growth and it opens pretty good for me.
     
  11. lunatik_69

    lunatik_69 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,933
    Location:
    Miami, FL

    My book states 50g or larger. Luna
     
  12. stepho

    stepho Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,118
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    Thats cool. I am trying to plan out my entire tank ahead of time, and do everything right the first time while custom building everything.