Marine Velvet on Neon Gobey

Discussion in 'Diseases' started by lrgosinkvet, Feb 8, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. lrgosinkvet

lrgosinkvet Plankton

OK, I am new at salt water and I fell victim to not quarantining in early December of 08. I'll spare you the details, but in a nutshell, I had a 12 gallon Nano tank with perfect parameters (all values zero), temp 80, Sg 1.024 and I had a Ocellaris clown and a bicolor Blenny in it when we decided to get 2 Neon Gobeys. All was fine- eveyone was eating and getting along just fine when 2 days into it we saw what we thought might be ich or possibly velvet. Within a day or 2 the Blenny and the Clown started going nuts, throwing themselves against the rocks and tearing themselves up-- very itchy.
    Now after an extremely difficult task of catching all of them, we moved them into a 5 gallon hospital tank. Being unsure of using Copper on the Blenny and the Gobey (scaleless species), I went with the Malachite Green/ Formalin combo. Within a week everyone was dead except for 1 neon gobey. So, since he still looked bad and everyone was dead, we said- fine let's treat him with Copper (Cupramine) and see how it goes. We were very careful about the levels-orignally 0.25 for 3-4 days, but then once he seemed OK, we went up to 0.5 for at least a week.
    Then I went to my LFS and spoke to the owner who had a fit about the Copper treatment and suggested a 50 minute dip with Formalin 3 and then keeping him in a hyposaline state for a while. We did this (1.015 SG) and he was ok, but not great- hiding and sort of eating. (We dipped him 2x in Formalin a week apart). We started to worry and put him back to SG 1.024 which perked him right up. Now, my question is this-- he acts normal now- eating like a pig for the last 2 weeks, but when you look at him, his skin doesn't look quite uniform. There are no protruding bumps, but it's almost like there's a haze on him.