Looking To Build My First Large Aquarium.

Discussion in 'Show Off Your Fish Tanks!' started by JaysLittleOcean, Jul 7, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. JaysLittleOcean

JaysLittleOcean Spaghetti Worm

Well let me start right off at saying I have never done this before and I could purchase an aquarium manufactured by a professional aquarium company but I don't want to do that. I want to build everything from scratch and have the pleasure (or misery if it bursts a seem) of saying that this was something I built from the ground up. So with that being said who on within the community has every built an aquarium? I have always preferred glass aquariums but in this case I am also considering acrylic. Any thoughts or suggestions. I'm looking to go 60 inches wide x 60 inches deep x 24 inches tall. That should give me roughly 374 gallons in the display alone.

2. Click Here!

3. Billme

Billme Eyelash Blennie

This will be a build to watch.

JaysLittleOcean likes this.
  4. mdbostwick

mdbostwick Vlamingii Tang

Never built a tank before. I have seen some pretty decent videos on youtube though. That is where i would start

5. JaysLittleOcean

Yeah I'm definitely a visual learner so I am going to start their as well. The only problem I have is choosing whether to go with Low Iron Glass or Acrylic.

6. Billme

Billme Eyelash Blennie

if you want long term trouble free, go with glass. Acrylic scratches easily. You cant avoid at minimum hairline scratches. There are even sevices that will polish acrylic. On the other hand you can shape acrylic into whatever you can imagine.

7. JaysLittleOcean

If I went with glass do you have any idea where I could find aquarium safe silicone in bulk?

8. Click Here!

9. AnotherMike

AnotherMike Fire Worm