Long Time SPS Keepers - I Need Help

Discussion in 'SPS Corals' started by FaceOfDeceit, Dec 30, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. FaceOfDeceit

FaceOfDeceit Hockey Beard

I have been keeping Acro's for a few years now. I have been extremely successful with most. As some of you know, I had a dosing malfunction last year that crashed my mixed reef system. I started another about 15 months ago...this time full SPS. My troubles are with any SPS species that is RED.

I can keep all sorts of different species in any other color. Blues look vibrant. Purples pop. Greens are bright and healthy. I even kept an original Tyree Pink Lemonade yellow for many months before a bacterial infection got it. But I cannot for the life of me keep anything Red. Tierra del Fuego, comes in BRIGHT RED, within a few months, fades to a grey/pink color. 3 different ORA Red Planets (including one 4" full colony), same thing. Pinks stay bright pink. I have a Strawberry Shortcake that is very bright pink with a neon green contrast body. I can keep Orange very well. I don't know. Currently running MH, but have had exact same results running T5/LED combos and LED only lighting.

I am running a ULNS using EcoBak pellets, and dosing a regiment of ZeoVit products. I am running 2x250W MH (Radium 20K) with LumenMax Elite Reflectors, and 3W CREE LED supplements.

I dose the following products:
    ZeoBak
    ZeoFood
    Coral Snow
    Pohl's Xtra
    Coral Vitalizer
    Sponge Power
    Red Sea Coral Colors (A-D, as needed, mainly D)

Below are my tank parameters:

SG: 1.026
    Temp: 78.5 (Stable to .1)
    pH: 8.1 (less than .1 swing daily)
    Cal: 440
    Mg: 1420
    KH: 8.5
    K: 460ppm
    PO4: 0.02
    NO3: Untraceable

Soooo...what is up?! As said earlier, all other SPS look great, growing fast, PE is long (even on formerly red SPS). All you long time SPS guys and gals (Greg, Hunter, Alex, Cheryl, Shin, etc.)...Help.

2. Click Here!