Live Rock

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by LPCHPC, Feb 18, 2005.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. LPCHPC

LPCHPC Plankton

Happy Friday everyone. Got a question. I am new to the addiction and I am in the process of setting up a 100g FOWLR tank. Currently I have saltwater mixed in the tank with two SEIO 620 and two Maxijet 1200 powerheads, two 200w Jebo heaters, Remora Pro w/mag3 skimmer and two 96w PC 10k and two blue actinic 03 96w PC. I am at the point were tomorrow I would like to purchase live rock. I have visited several local stores(here in Los Angeles area), Aquatic Outlet and Jeff's Exotic Fish, but I am not to sure what I should be looking for in the Live ROck as it sits in their containers. None of them seem to have the abundance of color I see on some of the etailers websites(is this because the pictures on line are of rocks that have been through curing and are starting to establish themselves?). Any help on what to look for would be of great help. Thanx

2. Click Here!

3. Olyoxenfree

Olyoxenfree Astrea Snail

the lighting in curing vats might be really icky. ( I know my LFS is) Maybe the can hold it under actinic or other lighting so you can get a good idea. The general concensus is if your order live rock online from a specialty dealer you will get a better deal and much higher quality rock.

4. Oyvay

Oyvay Plankton

There are certain live rock vendors on the Internet that sell rock that is particularly rich in all kinds of sponges, and even nice corals like zoanthids.  I know that a lot of people rave about, for example, Tampa Bay for the critters that they find on the rock they get from them.  You'd have to do a search to find the vendors that sell rock that are heavy with these kinds of things. I bought locally and I'm happy with what I got, although I probably did spend too much compared to what it would have cost over the Internet.