Live Rock thats been in storage?? Dead? Live?

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by vetteman, Mar 29, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. vetteman

vetteman Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I am fairly new to saltwater. My brother in law gave me his live rock that was in his tank. It is Fiji rock and was covered in purple when it was in his tank. It has been in storage for 2 years now with no water. He said that everything would die on them and then come back once in the water? Is this true? Or is it dead? How long till I get some color?

Thanks

2. Click Here!

3. Av8Bluewater

Av8Bluewater Giant Squid

When you put it in a new tank you'll need to seed it with a source of ammonia to get the bacteria growing on it. Use a dead shrimp or a damsel fish to start the cycle. Get some test kits... ammonia, nitrite, nitrate to start. When the ammonia and nitrite rise and fall the cycle is completed:
    A Typical Break-In Cycle

The purple will come in time...usually takes months.

4. trelane

trelane Peppermint Shrimp

He may have enough dead bioload on those rocks already since they've been rotting in storage.

5. sostoudt

sostoudt Giant Squid

it wont come back like some kind of dinosaur plant ThinkGeek :: The Amazing Desktop Dinosaur Plant
    everything that was alive is dead, im 99% sure of that. now its just base rock with dead stuff on it. but it will become alive after a month or so in your tank.

if by color you mean purple then no not if its the only rock in the tank. but it will get brown with algae and stuff.

6. kathy

kathy Astrea Snail

I am sorry if the questions below are stupid but I am also new and trying to learn the whole process and this thread was perfect and pertained to my questions;