Lighting suggestions for me?

Discussion in 'Clams' started by BonnieC, Apr 11, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. BonnieC

BonnieC Astrea Snail

I am researching and trying to determine what type of lights to get. I plan to keep some clams as these are my favorite! Ill also have some corals and a few fish. But Im brand new to SW so I will definately take my time before getting any. But I'd like to have the proper light set up for when I am ready.

My tank dimensions will be 24 x 24 x 14 rimless, so it's a shallow tank. I would REALLY like to get LED lights if possible??

Can you use LED lights with clams? I keep reading different info out there. I'd also like to have moonlights and everything on timers.

Also, to make it difficult, I have NO idea how to mount my lights. I have vaulted ceilings and the tank won't be against a wall. It does have a bit of a backing on it. This is what I plan to get: Neo Nano

Can you all link me some suggestions? I plan to get them by summer so not a rush.

2. Click Here!

3. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

I don't know about LED's. I would suggest getting a 6 or 8 bulb T5 unit. It will work so you can place any critter wherever you wish in the tank.

I'd make a hangar for the light by using 2x4's or something similar attached to the back of the stand.

4. Night-Rida

Night-Rida Finback Whale

A clip on MH (metal halide) 150w+ lamp will work with that.

1 person likes this.
  5. sailorguy

sailorguy Torch Coral

My thought exactly,you definitely would want a small,clean looking fixture with that tank so your view from above isn't obstructed.Someone on here has a build thread for his neo nano,can't remember who it is,maybe some one will help out,or you could check the show off your fish tanks forum.

1 person likes this.
  6. irr0001

irr0001 Purple Tang