Lighting help

Discussion in 'Reef Lighting' started by kehupie, Aug 30, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. kehupie

kehupie Plankton

HI. I am new to the 3reef community and hope somebody can help out.
    I have a reef tank (description below) and currently am using 2 - 48 inch T-12 coralife 50/50 (40watts each). I want to add a bulb anemone to my tank and need lighting. After reading these forums, I think I can use VHO's. If I use 2 Blue 54 watts (8500KH) and 2 white 54 watts each. would this be enough. My tank is about 20" depth. I also want to be able to take advantage of the 50/50 aknitics I have now along with the HO's. Please advise. Much thanks in advance.

2. Click Here!

3. reefman_MC

reefman_MC Aiptasia Anemone

Welcome to 3reef kehupie. There is no such thing as a 48" 54 watt VHO. A 48" VHO bulb would be 110 watts. A 48" T-5 would be 54 watts. I think your getting VHO's and T-5's mixed up. I would say you can use either to keep a Bubble Tip Anemone, but if you decided on T-5's you would need more than 4 bulbs. You would most likely have to get an 8 bulb fixture. Full VHO fixtures are available at http://www.championlighting.com and full T-5 fixtures are available at http://www.liveaquaria.com.

4. Jason McKenzie

Jason McKenzie Super Moderator

I would have to say 54 W would still not be enough lights. 4 X 54 + 2X 40W sounds like a ton of light but it's not really the correct kind of light. I would look into Metal Halide lighting before purchasing an Anemone

Jason

5. reefman_MC