LED Help 120gal FOWLR

Discussion in 'RapidLED' started by xxnonamexx, Dec 31, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. xxnonamexx

xxnonamexx Plankton

I have started to do research on converting my PCs to LEDs. My friend recommended your site. I am very new to LEDS. I have a 120 gal FOWLR 48x24x24. Can you point me in the right direction as to what I would need for the depth as well as having no dark spots in the corners as pre made LED units I read give. I want to know both ways what I would need for FOWLR and for a Reef since I am debating if I should have it "reef ready" in case I decide to go back into reef. I have a canopy. Thanks

2. Click Here!

3. Rapid LED

Rapid LED 3reef Sponsor

Hi there,

For a FOWLR tank that size I'd go with about 30 LEDs or so, and for Reef I'd go with about 60-72 LEDs depending on what you'll keep inside.

If you want to avoid dark spots in the corners then go with a longer heatsink, such as two of the 23" heatsinks. You'll likely get some light spill but it will help decrease the amount of dark spots in any corners.

As for lenses, I'd go with 60 or 80 degree optics depending on how far above the water the lights will be. For the FOWLR tank I'd use the 80's.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

4. xxnonamexx

xxnonamexx Plankton

Thanks- The unit will be 3" above the water. If I stick with FOWLR can you direct me on your website what exactly I will need? I will stay with FOWLR for now but I just want to see price difference if I decide to go back to reef.

5. Rapid LED

Rapid LED 3reef Sponsor

6. xxnonamexx

xxnonamexx Plankton

Your website has so much its too much to take in. I like the predrilled and tapped idea what type of LEDS do you recommend? I want the day-night-moon light effect. Drivers? dimmers? I saw the retrofit kits not sure if that will be ideal for me.

7. Rapid LED

Rapid LED 3reef Sponsor