Leaking 75 gallon tank...

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by Roccus, Sep 10, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Roccus

Roccus Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I guess I'm lucky.. I've been keeping fish for 50+ years.. and this is my first leaker.. but why my first reef tank ...6 months into it and I'm seeing small puddles every third day or so that seems to come and go but it has started to delaminate the table top ( I'll cover the new one with acrylic next time)
    After an email to Marine land ( they responded 2 days latter) they required only a picture of the leaking area and picture of the Tank ID number and a copy of the credit card statement to initiate the replacement @ 80% the cost of the "kit" I bought( Tank and stand).. which I can keep and "repair or destroy" after signing a release)... I'm happy with their customer service for this prompt action...

I'm pretty sure how I'll go about the swap... I have several 28 gallon tubs and 3 35 gallon trash cans.. so I can separate the inhabitants that don't play nice together.. I also have heaters available for all.. I've taken pictures of the tank on 3 angles... the tank is in my foyer with a brick floor.. so making a mess is not a problem ... my plan is to start early and do the swap as quickly as possible hopefully to be done in a few hours... any suggestions on how to better handle this are welcome...or point out anything I've missed...

2. Click Here!

3. Todd_Sails

Todd_Sails Giant Squid

Sounds right in general, so for your troubles, a little plannning and things should go well.
    Good luck

4. dienerman

dienerman Corkscrew Tentacle Anemone

Glad to hear about the good customer service. I would use new sand and just save a cup or two of the old. Good luck! Let us know how the move goes!

5. Roccus