Just got stung by my volitan lionfish..

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by Acowart, Oct 14, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Acowart

Acowart Plankton

:-/ Was leveling out my sand and of coarse it was very cloudy and out of all the places in my 150g tank I decide to stick my hand right on top of my lionfish..
    He isnt really that big, I'd say 6in max but it hurts like a mofo. Any tips on helping the pain. Im an HVAC tech and I work with my hands all day if the pain dosnt stop by the morning im going to be in a bad spot.. There is no way i can miss work ill just have to deal with the pain.... but if any1 has a suggestion please let me know

1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

I have heard to soak it in the hottest water you can tolerate.

NSAIDS for pain.

Seek medical attention if symptoms of possible allergic reaction occur. Watch for signs and symptoms of infection at puncture site as appropriate.

Hopefully Renee will chime in.

Ouch.

1 person likes this.
  4. cosmo

cosmo Giant Squid

+! on the hottest water you can stand asap!

5. 55gfowlr

55gfowlr Zoanthid

6. mattb57

mattb57 Banned

take a look at this
    Lionfish sting hurts more than you think; be prepared | The Triton

7. Acowart

Acowart Plankton

Yes I did run Very hot water over it. It seems to be letting up a bit. its been 2 hours but still hurts pretty bad.. Only strange thing that happened was a knot appeared on the right side of my fore arm

8. Click Here!

9. schackmel

schackmel Giant Squid

be very careful and keep a close eye on the sting site. It does hurt like hell. I got hit once and I was in tears.