Just getting started with SW.

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by eznet2u, May 10, 2006.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. eznet2u

eznet2u Plankton

Hi All,

Like the title says, I am just getting started with saltwater, have kept FW for awhile and wanted a little more of a challenge:loco:
    I have ordered the lighting (130watts PC) and a skimmer (rated for 150gal, I forget the brand.) and 3 power heads rate for 315gph. (overkill?)
    One of the power heads is for the mixing tank.
    30 pounds of LR, 20 pounds of aragonite, and 3-4 pounds of rubble for the bottom of the LFS LR holding tanks. (Grunge?)
    I plan on keeping a 20g tall reef with a Lawnmower Blenny, Sharknose Goby, and maybe a Percula.

I am new to SALT so I will more than likely be asking a lot of question on here, I have read nonstop since deciding to go for it. I still have a long way to go.

Any advice? Any questions? Any answers? Any Insults?:help:

2. Click Here!

3. powdertang05

powdertang05 Fire Worm

first of all if your going with corals you will have to have some serious moola if not with a fish only much cheaper, as for the skimmer i would like to know the brand and ill tell you if it will work as far a 150 thats alittle over kill but thats good if you want corals but as far as anything else have you bought everyhting already if not you may need to buy less of some items like powerheads maybe 1 or 2 max really and salts is my next question i would recommend Oceanic ive used Instant ocean and reef crystals and seems to work best but its up to you really.

4. powdertang05

powdertang05 Fire Worm

also get a good test i recommend aquarium pharms and i would recommend buying from online like marinedepot.com or live aquaria but up to you much cheap online also are you planing on buying a sump or making one or skimmer as a hangon and get a good heater and a a magnet scraper works fantastic also

5. eznet2u

eznet2u Plankton