Is this a... baby mantis shrimp?

Discussion in 'ID This!' started by gorillacrab, Nov 30, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. gorillacrab

gorillacrab Astrea Snail

Saw this peaking out of my rock today? Is it a mantis shrimp or????

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. Caspian

Caspian Coral Banded Shrimp

I'm no pro but it looks rather close, I use to have amphipods but they didn't stretch out like that.

4. reefmonkey

reefmonkey Giant Squid

It could be but not likely IMO.

Even on larval stomatopods the eyes on the end of the stalks are predominant and noticeable.

5. gorillacrab

gorillacrab Astrea Snail

Yea, I didn't think so, but he's larger than any of the pods I've seen in my tank. Also his legs are weird and long. Also the apparent head end seems to be waving. Any ideas on what he is are welcome - thanks.

6. stepho

stepho Panda Puffer

I am not sure on this one. The legs don't look right, but the eyes and what appears to be raptoral appendages does.

posted with tapatalk please ignore bad spelling and grammar

7. schackmel

schackmel Giant Squid

i think it might be some type of mantis possibly? If it is I would say it is a spearer vs smasher as he doesnt have any claws. But it is really hard to say.

What a fantastic picture though that you were able to get something that small so clear!

8. Click Here!

9. stepho

stepho Panda Puffer

Man that really looks like one. Threads with this title are almost always amphipods or mysis shrimp, but that really looks like a stomatopod to me. It's such a good picture I would feel ridiculous asking for better. Unless you can catch it. And take a picture in a small glass.

posted with tapatalk please ignore bad spelling and grammar

10. reefmonkey

reefmonkey Giant Squid

Send that pic to Dr. Roy Caldwell. [email protected]

Stepho must see something I don't. Definite eyes and raptors.