Is that possible?

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by SARGEBUCKEY, Nov 26, 2002.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. SARGEBUCKEY

SARGEBUCKEY Plankton

I just converted my fish only 125 gallon tank to reef aquarium. I got about 150 pounds of LR and 3 inches of LS and stared cycling the tank on November 16. I've had a lot of experience with salt water fish but none with corals so I'm being very careful. Last night I've tested the ammonia, ph, nitrites and nitrates levels and to my surprise they were all zero with ph of about 8.1. I've kept about 10 gallons of water from my fish tank and removed media from my trickle filter 4 days after cycling started because of recommendation of my local fish store owner. Is it possible that the cycle has been already completed after only10 days? If so, what should I start adding: corals (which kind?), cleaning crew, or fish only. Also, I've ordered CustomSeaLife 72" fixture with 3x250 W metal hallides (5500 K) and 2x96 W blue actinic PC combo, which should be in on November 29. Is the light going be too yellow in color and do you think that blue actic will have an impact on raising color temperature to more eye pleasing effect? The upgrade of hallides to higher temperature would cost $160. Thank you for all replies.

2. Click Here!

3. Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers Kingfish

With that much rock I would think it would be possible to cycle that fast. However, if it were me, I would give it another week or two for piece of mind.

For coral, fish, and cleaning crew picks from me, check out the 'step 3' page, the 'recommended fish' page and the 'sand' page.