Is my tank cycled or not started? NEED HELP!

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by littlea8, Mar 1, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. littlea8

littlea8 Astrea Snail

Hello,

I am a beginner when it comes to saltwater tanks. I am trying to establish a fish only with live rock tank. I added my uncured live rock about two weeks ago with live sand and started testing ammonia about 3-4 days after and had gotten no readings. The salinity is at 1.024 and the temperature is at 75 degrees. After about a week I tested both ammonia and nitrite and still got no readings. Finally after being fed up thinking the cycle didn't start I tested ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and PH today (approx 2 weeks after adding the live rock and sand) and I got 0 levels of ammonia, 0 levels of nitrite, and I'm pretty sure i got small levels of about 5-10ppm of nitrate reading with a PH of 7.2. I am very confused at this point as to what i should be doing or where my tank is at in terms of the cycle. Could someone please help me as to what further steps I should be taking and where my tank is at after 2 weeks of adding the uncured live rock?

2. Click Here!

3. andru1313

andru1313 Purple Spiny Lobster

let it sit. Keep readin on this and other forums. It takes time. I let mine sit for almost 6 weeks. And then was told to let it sit more. So again be patient. Read everything you can and you will know when its time.

4. JKT69

JKT69 Astrea Snail

We are pretty much in the same position re: tank cycle. I did the same thing, thought I was cycled, diatom bloomed, algae forming, tests all good, etcm added two damsels and that kicked started the cycle. Not a good move on my part...best advice I have read is to go to the grocery and buy some raw shrimp, put one in the tank and let it sit in there for 3-4days, that apparently will kick start the cycle.

5. coldshot

coldshot Blue Ringed Angel