Is My LR ready ?

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by szogun, Mar 17, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. szogun

    szogun Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Woodridge, IL,Illinois
    Hi I got 30lb of LR about a month ago and I'm curing it a big 50 gal container with 2 power heads.
    It looks like it went trough whole cycle first week big ammonia spike than ammonia at zero and a big spike of the nitrites.
    Now it reads 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and there are traces of nitrate.
    Is my LR ready to go in my main tank? if so how should I put it in is it OK to put in the whole 30 lb at once or go slow?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Sounds good. I think you can do it.
    I don't see a skimmer in your sig, do you have one?
     
  4. szogun

    szogun Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Woodridge, IL,Illinois
    yes I do its rated 150 gal and its the venturi style
     
  5. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Cool. I say go for it. Do a small (5%) water change like 5-7 days after that is all I'd do. :)
     
  6. szogun

    szogun Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Woodridge, IL,Illinois
    I'm also starting a 20 gal reef and i see you have a 20 gal tank also how much LR should I put in there? and how is your 20 gal is it really hard to maitain a 20 gal nanoreef? and is it worth the hassle? what are your expiriences with a 20 ?
     
  7. Craig Manoukian

    Craig Manoukian Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,330
    Location:
    Marina del Rey, California
  8. Click Here!

  9. szogun

    szogun Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Woodridge, IL,Illinois
    OK I just put about 15lb of my new LR in my new
    NANOREEF!!! which I have setup yesterday.
    this is a pic day2 I will keep you posted on the progress

    [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
     
  10. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Another nano! 8)

    That should be fun.

    Is that rock very porous though? Looks kinda solid and flat. May be ok; I don't have experience with that kind of rock.

    You asked about my 20 gallon - I have about 30 lbs of rock or more in it.

    Nitrates have been 0 for a while now. Hardest thing I've had is keeping the alk up. I would get it up there and then do water changes with NSW which lowered the alk again.

    Now I am getting it back to where I want and considered buffering the NSW before I add it next time.

    Since I am using my old halide lamp from my 30 gallon on it (150w) I also am now dealing with heat problems. Fans are helping, but I ordered an IceProbe Chiller with the controller from our sponsor Premium Aquatics.

    This whole time, I haven't had fish, so talk about going slow! ;D It's helped get me back on my feet though. And while the tank is hot, I am glad I don't have them now. ;) :)
     
  11. Craig Manoukian

    Craig Manoukian Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,330
    Location:
    Marina del Rey, California
    I have about 35 lbs of LR in my 20.
     
  12. szogun

    szogun Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Woodridge, IL,Illinois