In Need OF Help

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by amilliner147, Mar 25, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. amilliner147

    amilliner147 Plankton

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    I have a 125 Gallon tank With a 20 gallon sump.. I have had it up for about 4 months . my nitrates/nitrates are 0 but i have a ammonia 0.25 ppm i dont have fish is the tank they are as follows
    Blue Tang
    Yellow Tang
    2 Ocellaris Clownfish
    2 Black and White Clownfish
    flame Angel
    Mandrin
    Banggai Cardinal
    i do have algae in the tank aswell i dont know how to get rid of my have something to do with the ammonia in the tank i really dont have any idea i dont have a hang on the back filter as well as a filter sock on the overflow. i also have skimmer in the sump i do have another hang on the back skimmer that i am using as a refugium
    i can think of anything else i can add to help you guys out .. other the a pic if need i can add one ........ any help would be great thinks
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Corailline

    Corailline Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    It is a dry heat, yeah right !

    Hi and Welcome to 3reef.

    What test kit are you using?
    How much are you feeding?
    Do the fish look stressed?

    Did you move this tank or was it set up as new?
    Have you performed any water changes?
    Have you used any Prime?
    What is your water source?

    How long have the fish been in the tank?

    The tank is still pretty young so an algae bloom is not unheard of.
     
  4. Billme

    Billme Eyelash Blennie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca
    What test kits are you using? Some brands are better than others.
     
  5. amilliner147

    amilliner147 Plankton

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    My Test Kit is Aip
    my water is ROID that i make at home
    i feed once a day frozon Food (PE Mysis) i wash in rodi before putting in my tank
    and ever other day i feed Prime Reef Flakes at night
    its a new tank started it with tap water with chlorine remover couldnt make the much ro water at the time .. i have did a 50% water change with rodi and all i use now is ro water
    I do have 3 bags of
    Chemi-Pure in the sump
    not using any prime or anything like that
    i add the clowns first the i added a fish ever 2 weeks after
     
  6. Corailline

    Corailline Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    It is a dry heat, yeah right !
    I would double check that result against another kit, perhaps have the local fish store check an ammonia level. API test kits are really unreliable, you see a lot of error with the ammonia portion and reading .25 ppm.

    Next I would proceed with small water changes over the course of a couple days.

    Buy some Prime so you have it.

    Buy some Microbacter7 or similar product like Dr.Tims and add per instruction.

    When you get a chance to put up an image please do. We'll be more able to discern what type of algae issue you're having.

    What type of snails do you have now?
     
  7. Billme

    Billme Eyelash Blennie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca
    I've had inaccurate readings from API. Salifert is a much better test.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. amilliner147

    amilliner147 Plankton

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Here is a few pics of my Tank
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Billme

    Billme Eyelash Blennie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca
    Can you get a closeup of the algae that's the problem?
     
  11. Corailline

    Corailline Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    It is a dry heat, yeah right !
    Thanks for providing the images.

    You have a nice bloom of Cyanobacteria going on. Possibly related to both low flow and the age of the tank.

    With respect to the size of your tank you have little rock. Although I like a minimalist look you need to make up for the deficiency in biological filter somewhere else.

    Definitely add more flow, those powerheads are not going to cut it.

    Try to add more rock either to the sump or the display.

    These problems will work out at the tank ages. Cyanbacteria can be a chronic issue if you do not intervene.
     
  12. kstafford003

    kstafford003 Feather Star

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I definately agree with flow. Both power heads are ponting against each other at the moment. Add a couple more to get the water moving all over the place. For now you may want to move those two power heads to the middle and point them towards the front glass to create more of a convection style current until you can get more power heads.