I'm new, please help.

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by thang45, Oct 15, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. thang45

thang45 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I’m a newbie. I wanted to setup my first salt/reef tank.

So far these are the items that I have purchased so far:

90 GAL tank and Stand
    2 x 250W HQI
    Hydor two of #4 and one of #3 (Total 3 powerheads)
    MSX200 skimmer
    Heater
    Refractometer

I’m building sump/refugium using a tank size of 36 x 12 x 18. The sump will have 3 sections, left section will be for the skimmer, middle section for the return pump, and the right section for the refugium.

I want to buy some Refugium Mineral Mud, how many gallons do I need. If the space is 12 x 12 does that mean I need 2 gallons of Mineral Mud? How algae do I need to buy, someone told me I need cheato?

If my overflow can do 700gph, then the pondmaster mag-drive 9.5 is good enough at 5’ return or I need stronger pump?
    If I’m missing anything please let me know.

Any help are greatly appreciated.

Thank you

2. Click Here!

3. MTips18

MTips18 Purple Spiny Lobster