Ick

Discussion in 'Fish Diseases' started by Stephenie4578, Jul 16, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Stephenie4578

Stephenie4578 Plankton

I have set up a tank, for my daughter and now i have ick on my two guarmies, and have lost five neon tetras. I have been using the "ick guard" treatment, and nothing is improving. I took some water to the pet store to have it tested, and they said my water was fine. I have gone through 1 and a half bottles of ick treatment, and all that has happened is things are getting worse. I dont know what else to try. Any help?
    I am very new to this and don't know what to do.

2. Click Here!

3. fletch

fletch Kole Tang

Hi Stephenie I hope that the information on this web site will help!! Just click on it http://www.nunnie.com/ick.html Good luck and keep us posted ;)...................... John

4. Birdlady

Birdlady Finback Whale

I have also read that raising the temperature of the tank prevents and gets rid of ick. Raise it to the very top end of the recommended temperature (I think it is 78 - 80 F)
    I just remember when I had my FW tank, I kept it at the top of the green line on my thermometer ;) so I can't quite remember the exact temp. and I never had another Ick problem ;D

5. Stephenie4578

Stephenie4578 Plankton

thank you for your suggestions. The tank is at the highest temp., and we have had it there for quite a while. Thank you for your help. The web site is very helpful, and has alot of great ideas i will try. Thank you again

6. Bugsy

Bugsy Plankton

Hi, I have always used Aquarisol for my treatment of ick. It says to raise water temp to 86 and put in 10 drops per 10 gal of water. If you have used a whole bottle of ick guard you might be battling something more than just ick. Are their fins ragged looking? Any white film on their bodies? What conditon are the fish in right now?